Soundarya Lahari Verse 41 – Meditation upon Muladhara Chakra explained

Sri Gurubhyo namah Sri Parama Gurubhyo namah Sri Parameshthi Gurubhyo namah

Shantaa Vimalaa prakasha Atmaa Guhaa Chid Yogasya Sri Parananadadi Sadguroon Namamyaham punah punah

tavādhāre mūle saha samayayā lāsyaparayā
navātmānaṃ manye navarasamahātāṇḍavanaṭam ।
ubhābhyāmetābhyāmudayavidhimuddiśya dayayā
sanāthābhyāṃ jajñe janakajananīmajjagadidam ॥ 41॥

तवाधारे मूले सह समयया लास्यपरया
नवात्मानं मन्ये नवरसमहाताण्डवनटम् ।
उभाभ्यामेताभ्यामुदयविधिमुद्दिश्य दयया
सनाथाभ्यां जज्ञे जनकजननीमज्जगदिदम् ॥ ४१॥

ತವಾಧಾರೇ ಮೂಲೇ ಸಹ ಸಮಯಯಾ ಲಾಸ್ಯಪರಯಾ
ನವಾತ್ಮಾನಂ ಮನ್ಯೇ ನವರಸಮಹಾತಾಂಡವನಟಮ್ ।
ಉಭಾಭ್ಯಾಮೇತಾಭ್ಯಾಮುದಯವಿಧಿಮುದ್ದಿಶ್ಯ ದಯಯಾ
ಸನಾಥಾಭ್ಯಾಂ ಜಜ್ಞೇ ಜನಕಜನನೀಮಜ್ಜಗದಿದಮ್ ॥ 41॥

In your Muladhara I meditate on the Navatman ( Maha Bhairava) who express nine sentiments ( Navarasas) and engaged in Maha Tandava along with Samaya ( Maha Bhairavi ) whose dance form is Lasya. The Universe hs come to have a father and a mother in you both, who have come together graciously for its regeneration ( after it was burnt).

The divinities in Muladhara are Adinatha and LayEsvarI. Adinatha performing Tandava and Lasyeshwari the lasya. As Siva and Shakti begin their dance the Universe which was dissolved into their elements and absorbed into Siva Shakti are again revived, resurrected.
Moment they stop dance the dissolution takes place.
Samaya is used in the verse for Shakti. Siva also known as samaya but here he is called Navatman.
The word Samaya Mata or Samayachara in Sri Vidya Upasana is derived from this name. SAMA means equal and hence both are called by the same name in masculine and feminine form.
The essence, importance and feature of Samayachara is that both are one and are inseparable. This feature is very well reflected in the meditation upon psychic chakras as explained in verses No 36 to 42,
Though Siva is Samaya, in this verse he is called navatman because he is characterised by Nine Vyuhas or groups of manifestations.

These Nine groups are:
1 Kaala ( time signified by Sun & Moon)
2 Kula ( Colours)
3 Nama ( Names Like samaya and samaya)
4 Jnana ( Knowledge)
5 Chitta ( Individual consciousness with all its manifestations, like mind, intellect senses)
6 Naada ( Sound in its 4 forms , Para , Pashyanti, Madhyama VaikharI)
7 Bindu ( The six chakras beginning with Muladhara)
8 Kalaa ( The fifty letters of the alphabet)
9 Jiva ( the individual being enjoying in the respective bodies)

Though all the verses about meditation upon Chakras refer to Samaya Tantra, in this Verse Sri Bhagavatpada has used Samayaa for Shakti and Navatman for Siva, a term used by Kaulas for Siva. This is done, may be to explain that the Siva – Shakti for Kaulas in Muladhara is Ananda Bhairava and Ananda Bhairavi which is not different from Samaya Samayaa for Samayins.

It is accepted by all schools of Sri Vidya that in creation the Prakruti, or Shakti is the active and essential factor. Her worship and attainment of her grace are necessary for all Jivas to attain liberation, Salvation. Sri Vidya according to the nature and competency of the aspirants are classified as Samayaa, Kaula and Misra.

Samaya worship is pure internal without any external rituals or ingredients and it is performed in Daharakasha , Spiritual sky, otherwise called Hrudayakasha.
There is samatva in Siva Shakti, they are one and inseparable and hence the adoration of Devi in different Chakras is not essential for Samayins.

Pure internal sadhana can be done only by advanced sadhakas and hence for them certain external rituals are prescribed to begin with and this method is called Mishrachara.

Udayavidhim in the verse indicates the regeneration process that the Siva & Shakti forces trigger at the level of cause & effect which filters into all the levels of matter, whether gross or subtle, animate or inanimate or static or dynamic.
The power of kundalini enables energy & consciousness to move out of the fold of matter and carries the Jeevatma to Paramatma.

Blog links to all 7 Soundarya Lahari Verses (36 to 42) to meditate 7 Chakras:

Verse 36 – Meditation upon Ajna Chakra

Verse 37 – Meditation upon Vishuddi Chakra

Verse 38 – Meditation upon Anahata Chakra

Verse 39 – Meditation upon Swadistana Chakra

Verse 40  – Meditation upon Manipura Chakra

Verse 41 – Meditation upon Muladhara Chakra

Verse 42 – Meditation upon Sahasrara Chakra


9 Comments on “Soundarya Lahari Verse 41 – Meditation upon Muladhara Chakra explained

  1. Pingback: Soundarya Lahari Verse 36 – Meditation upon Ajna chakra explained | Atmanandanatha

  2. Pingback: Soundarya Lahari Verse 38 – Meditation upon Anahata chakra explained | Atmanandanatha

  3. Pingback: Soundarya Lahari Verse 37 – Mediation upon Vishuddi Chakra Explained | Atmanandanatha

  4. Pingback: Soundarya Lahari Verse 42 – Meditation upon Sahasrara Chakra explained | Atmanandanatha

  5. Pingback: Soundarya Lahari Verse 40 – Meditation upon Manipura Chakra Explained | Atmanandanatha

  6. Pingback: Soundarya Lahari verse 39 – Meditation upon swadhishtana chakra explained | Atmanandanatha

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: